Malleable Musings

February 27, 2009

@Google and @responses

Filed under: Branding, Twitter — Brendan @ 12:21 am

Like 21,000 other people I was following @Google on Twitter when they posted this message referencing @responses.

That’s odd I thought @responses is another account.  So I clicked it.

It was a brand new account. No bio, no location, no pic, no updates, no followers, not following anyone and just the name “Responses”.

However as I kept pressing refresh it changed – I wish I’d taken screenshots as it was fascinating to watch the power of a brand as large as Google in action.  I tweeted it whilst I was watching – a copy of the tweetstream is below (sorry didn’t reverse this).

responses

As I send this post live the @responses account has 36 followers.  Interesting to see how this will play out.

However @responses also made their second tweet – which makes me think it might be pure opportunism.

Update 00:32 – @responses has deleted their tweets, however I was able to do a screenshot from Twitterfox. Had enough for tonight but will be interesting to see what happens in the morning.

2

1 Comment »

  1. I got bored of @responses after a month or so. Still couldn’t work out what the account was – although it looks like someone being blatantly opportunistic.

    As of 2 June @google is up to over 3/4 million followers. Interestingly they tweeted a link tonight to a twitpic see http://twitter.com/google/status/2009075655 and http://twitpic.com/6hq6k (which got 2,500 views in the space of ten minutes – crazy stats).

    Comment by Brendan — June 2, 2009 @ 10:19 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

