Malleable Musings

March 21, 2009

Moving on

Filed under: Life at home — Brendan @ 1:27 pm

So after seven and a half great years I’ve finally decided it’s time to move on to a new job with a new organisation.

I’m going to be moving from one UoL to another. Swapping London for Leicester. I signed the acceptance letter today and sent my resignation letter yesterday.

In broad terms I’ll be doing the same thing – marketing distance learning. However my guess is that it’s going to be very different from my current job for a variety of reasons. I’m really looking forward to the change and from what I’ve seen Leicester looks like an excellent place to work and it looks like I’ll be working alongside some really interesting people.

I’m being held to my 3 month notice period which I think is bizarre, I simply couldn’t imagine this happening in a corporate world. I have friends who have had their network access cancelled, told to return their company credit cards, mobile phone and laptop and given fifteen minutes to clear their desk for announcing their intention to move to a competitor.

I don’t know if this difference in attitude is due to a culture of trust or poor business practice but I bet I’ve still got hold of my corporate credit card (with it’s £15k limit – somehow I doubt I’ll have this luxury at Leicester) and laptop up until July 19 my last day in London.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

