Malleable Musings

April 5, 2009

Bright Shiny Things

Filed under: BTP — Brendan @ 5:43 am

At the moment I’m not feeling all that motivated at work as on June 22nd I’m starting a new job. I still have loads I want to get done before I leave.  What’s making me feel de-motivated is what’s happening, or not happening, in terms of my replacement(s).

I have a close relationship with my line manager and so when I announced I was leaving one of the first things I did with them was to sit down to discuss future staffing. We agreed it probably didn’t make sense trying to find a like for like replacement for my role. Instead she could use my departure as an opportunity to restructure, maybe having two lower graded posts where one had existed before. So we duly put together job descriptions, one was a co-ordinating role for our partners, which would also focus on customer understanding and conversion whilst the other was intended as a much more junior role which focussed on online community management (with management of our online advertising agency thrown in for good measure).

On Friday my boss explained that she’d been given the go ahead by the Senior Management Team to recruit for the lower position only.

I really don’t know what to think of this, other than feeling a little dejected because what I do isn’t valued.

Whilst there definitely does need to be someone with online communication skills within the team (there currently really isn’t anyone else), social media is part of how I get my job done, but it’s a very small part whilst most of our online advertising is now handled by an agency rather than in-house.

I can only think that there’s an element of attraction to the bright shiny world of social media and online marketing, but a misunderstanding of how this world works and how it can be used.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

