Malleable Musings

June 21, 2009

That was my London

Filed under: Life at home — Brendan @ 10:15 am

It was my last day of work on Friday – so we had a lovely little party with cake and a fair few bottles of wine. I was expecting to be made to do a farewell speech. Luckily I didn’t have to do one. I say luckily as I’m sure I would have got very emotional.

It was a really nice little send-off and I was given a couple of great leaving presents.

The first was a very generous voucher for Amazon. Given the brand problems that the University of London has, it tickled me to see who it was from.  The  UoL External / Programme / International Academy / Whatever.

The second present was really special though.

It isn’t a Photoshop creation.  I just happened to be in the wrong place at the right time.  It was taken at the LSE’s external study provider’s meeting earlier this year.   The photo shows me in Caligula pose at the front (I blame Sylvia and Rosie for encouraging me).  The others are external partners from around the world who I’ve worked with over the years.  I know I’ll see some of these people again as I’ll be working with a few of them when I move to Leicester.   A few provide support to Leicester students as well – and there is at least one (Ringo Chan, top right, from the University of Hong Kong who is doing his PhD through Leicester).

Anyone who has talked to me recently knows I’m obviously excited about moving on but at the same time I’m also a bit apprehensive.

I’m also  a bit sorry about leaving all of the great people I’ve been working with behind.   It feels a family – sometimes a very, large dysfunctional family, but a family nonetheless.  Martin, who used to head up our advertising agency, came along to my leaving do – he summed it up well when he said that it’s always about the people.

The last seven and half years have been really interesting.  It’s not always been easy and straightforward but it’s always been enjoyable and I’ve gained a load of really happy and funny memories and had a tonne of great adventures.  I wonder what the new job will bring!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

